## NORTHAMPTON BOROUGH COUNCIL



## **COUNCIL**

Thursday, 15 May 2014

YOU ARE SUMMONED TO ATTEND A MEETING OF NORTHAMPTON BOROUGH COUNCIL, WHICH WILL BE HELD AT THE GUILDHALL NORTHAMPTON ON THURSDAY, 15 MAY 2014 AT 11:00 AM WHEN THE FOLLOWING BUSINESS IS PROPOSED TO BE TRANSACTED

## 1. ELECTION OF THE MAYOR

Councillor Mackintosh to propose and Councillor Duncan to second: "That Councillor John Caswell be elected Mayor of the Borough of Northampton for the ensuing year".

After election the Mayor will make the declaration of office

The Mace Bearer will invest the Mayoress (Mrs Cheryl Caswell) with her chain of office.

The Mayor will thank the Council for his election.

## 2. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE OUTGOING MAYOR AND MAYORESS

Councillor Mason to propose and Councillor Palethorpe to second: "That the thanks of the Council be given to Councillor Les Marriott and Mrs Lisa Marriot for the able and courteous manner in which they have discharged their duties as Mayor and Mayoress during their term on office".

## 3. ELECTION OF THE DEPUTY MAYOR

Councillor Larratt to propose and Councillor Hill to second: "That Councillor Penny Flavell be appointed to the office of Deputy Mayor".

After appointment the Deputy Mayor will make her declaration of acceptance of office.

The Mace Bearer will invest the Deputy Mayors consort (Mr Michael Flavell) with his badge of office.

#### 4. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

#### 5. APOLOGIES

#### 6. LONG SERVICES

## 25 years' service:

Colleen Peart, Jane Jennings, Simon Palmer. Louise Marshall, Julie Drummond, Jeffery Harrison, Donna Newbold, Tanya Worrall, Margaret Wolstenholme, Shane Conway, Silvina Katz, Sue Folwell, Salma Kotadia, Sarah Gould and Lee Butler.

## 35 years' service:

Mark James and Michael Rudd.

## 7. LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE CONSERVATIVE GROUP

Councillor Hadland to announce:

"That Councillor Mackintosh be appointed Leader of the Conservative Group and Councillor Markham be appointed Deputy Leader of the Conservative Group".

## 8. LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE OPPOSITION GROUP

Councillor Palethorpe to announce:

"That Councillor Marriott be appointed Leader of the Opposition and Councillor Mason be appointed Deputy Leader of the Opposition".

## 9. LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE LIBERAL DEMOCRATS GROUP

Councillor Glynane to announce:

"That Councillor Beardsworth be appointed Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group and Councillor Meredith be appointed Deputy Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group".

## 10. DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL AND CABINET

The Leader of the Council to announce the following appointments:

Councillor Markham Deputy Leader of the Council and Cabinet Member for Housing Cabinet Member for Finance

Councillor Eldred Cabinet Member for Community Engagement

Councillor Hadland Cabinet Member for Regeneration, Enterprise and Planning

Councillor Hallam Cabinet Member for Environment

#### 11. COMMITTEE PROPORTIONALITY

(Copy herewith)

#### 12. COUNCIL MEETINGS

The Mayor to propose: "That the Annual Meeting of the Council take place on  $21^{st}$  May 2015 and that other meetings of the Council take place on the 14th July,  $15^{th}$  September,  $27^{th}$  October,  $8^{th}$  December 2014,  $19^{th}$  January,  $23^{rd}$  February and the  $2^{nd}$  March 2015.

#### 13. APPOINTMENT TO COMMITTEES

(Copy herewith)

#### 14. APPOINTMENT TO THE ALMO SHADOW BOARD

(Copy herewith)

#### 15. APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES

(Copy herewith)

#### 16. CONSULTATION APPOINTMENTS

Civic Matters (Chief Executive)

The Mayor, the Deputy Mayor, The Immediate Past Mayor and Councillors Beardsworth, Hill and Mackintosh

Community Enabling Fund Advisory Panel (Chief Executive):

Councillors I Choudary (Chair) and Councillors Parekh, Beardsworth, King, Strachan and Subbarayan

Constitution Review Working Party (Borough Solicitor)

Councillors Beardsworth, Subbarayan, Oldham, Hallam, Meredith and Strachan.

Markets Advisory Panel

Councillor Nunn, Hadland and Stone

Northamptonshire Police and Crime Panel

Councillor Eldred (Cllr King – Substitute)

Councillor Mason (Cllr Marriott - Substitute)

Discretionary Housing Payments Review Panel (Chief Executive)

Councillor Bottwood & Markham

Councillor Beardsworth

Councillor Marriott & Mason

The Guildhall Northampton

# Democratic Services: e-mail <a href="mailto:democraticservices@northampton.gov.uk">democraticservices@northampton.gov.uk</a>

Tel 01604 837722

Mail Democratic Services

Northampton Borough Council

The Guildhall St Giles Square

Northampton NN1 1DE